Home  Introduction   How to Use   Lessons   Links 

KIDS and FAIR TRADE: A Teacher’s and Parent’s Guide

Using the Maya Arts and Crafts of Guatemala/Artes y Artesanías Mayas de Guatemala Coloring Book


back | home page

Fair Trade Federation logo

Links to Further Resources on Fair Trade

This list of websites for Fair Trade vendors and Fair Trade and related organizations is primarily for the information of teachers and parents, though some sites may also be of interest to children.

Fair Trade Stores and Vendors

Colores Del Pueblo: www.coloresdelpueblo.org
Wonderful to see examples of Maya masks, "santos" and huipils, etc.

Fair Trade Quilts and Crafts: www.fairtradequilts.com
Patchwork quilts made with Maya textiles and more

Fair Trade Vendors: www.fairtradevendors.com
Under construction. When completed this website will have links to many useful websites

Global Crafts: www.globalcrafts.org
Specializing in crafts from Africa but has other items as well

Marilyn Anderson/Pro Arte Maya: www.marilynfanderson.com
With cards and coloring book Maya Arts and Crafts of Guatemala/Artes y Artesanías Mayas de Guatemala and information about Pro Arte Maya, an educational project for children in Guatemala

Maya Traditions: www.mayatraditions.com
Textiles and traditional crafts, supports educational projects

Pachama: A World of Artisans: www.pachamamaworld.com
Nice images of Fair Trade items from various countries

Peri Dar: www.peridar.com
Fair trade household and home decor textiles and basketry, from tea towels to Tibetan rugs. All are handmade and originate from 18 artisan groups in 12 countries, from Peru to Kyrgyzstan. Good information about artisans

Terra Experience: www.terraexperience.com
Specializing in Guatemala Maya dolls with their clothing, children's books about Mexico and Guatemala, etc. with excellent educational components

Traditions: www.traditionsfairtrade.com
Great photos of various crafts, good information about artisan projects and much more

Top

Organizations

Resources and information about Fair Trade organizations, NGO'S and the cooperative movement.

California Global Corporate Accountability Project: www.nautilus.org/cap/orgs/ngos.html
List of NGO's involved in human rights and the environment

Fair Trade Federation: www.fairtradefederation.com
Information about Fair Trade and names of producers, wholesalers, and retailers

Fair Trade Resource Network: www.fairtraderesource.org
Information and resources about Fair Trade

Global Exchange: www.globalexchange.org
On the home page, click on FTAA  to learn about the proposed free trade agreement and on Fair Trade to find out about activities and projects. Student activity books and other information about chocolate and Fair Trade can be found at: www.globalexchange.org/campaigns/fairtrade/cocoa/chocolatekids.html

OXFAM: www.oxfam.org.uk
Extensive info about Fair Trade and the effects of Free Trade on the poor and much more! Join an email list to find out about teaching resources at Coolplanet for teachers at: www.oxfam.org.uk/coolplanet

Rights Action: www.rightsaction.org
Rights based humanitarian and educational projects

UNICEF: www.unicefusa.org
To find out about child labor throughout the world

U.S. Labor Education in The Americas Project: www.usleap.org

back | home page